Cmdstan build not recognised

Hi
I am new to MatlabStan and trying to setup cmdstan following the instructions in cmdstan-guide.pdf given in https://github.com/stan-dev/cmdstan/releases. Following Section 2.2, Step 2 , I do not see a “local” file in the “make” folder and \cmdstan\make build gets the following error:
“build” is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

Operating System: Windows 10
Interface Version: cmdstan 2.18.0
Compiler/Toolkit: Rtools 3.4

Please help.

You need to create the local file if needed.

Build with make build is failing?

You aren’t supposed to run the command “\cmdstan\make build”. You’re supposed to go into the “\cmdstan” directory and run the command “make build”.

Well, build is an option indexed in the makefile.

My makefile contains the following

build: $(LIBMPI) bin/stanc$(EXE) bin/stansummary$(EXE) bin/print$(EXE) bin/diagnose$(EXE) $(LIBSUNDIALS)
	@echo ''
	@echo '--- CmdStan v$(CMDSTAN_VERSION) built ---'

Thanks @increasechief and @jjramsey and @ahartikainen .

When I went to “\cmdstan” directory and ran the command “make build”, I get the following error:

uname: not found
uname: not found
g++ -Wall -I . -isystem stan/lib/stan_math/lib/eigen_3.3.3 -isystem stan/lib/stan_math/lib/boost_1.66.0 -isystem stan/lib/stan_math/lib/sundials_3.1.0/include -std=c++1y -DBOOST_RESULT_OF_USE_TR1 -DBOOST_NO_DECLTYPE -DBOOST_DISABLE_ASSERTS -DBOOST_PHOENIX_NO_VARIADIC_EXPRESSION -Wno-unused-function -Wno-uninitialized -I src -isystem stan/src -isystem stan/lib/stan_math/ -DFUSION_MAX_VECTOR_SIZE=12 -Wno-unused-local-typedefs -DEIGEN_NO_DEBUG -m64 -Wno-unused-but-set-variable -DNO_FPRINTF_OUTPUT -pipe  -c src/cmdstan/stanc.cpp -O3 -o bin/cmdstan/stanc.o
src/cmdstan/stanc.cpp:1:0: sorry, unimplemented: 64-bit mode not compiled in
 #include <stan/command/stanc_helper.hpp>
 ^
Assembler messages:
Fatal error: no compiled in support for x86_64
make: *** [bin/cmdstan/stanc.o] Error 1