Asking for advice on making a more efficient RL code

Hi Everyone,

I am new to stan and trying to bring the magic to my team. We wrote a simple code to estimate two parameters for a Q-learner. Here, a player is asked to chose between 1 to N cards (or arms), each leading to reward on some drifting probability. The model has two parameters (learning rate and a softmax temperature). While the model and parameters recover well (>.9 corr between recovered and true parameters), we need to fit this to big data, and it seem to be painfully slow (up to 15 hours or more).

Would you have any advice on how to write a better optimized code? Is there anything I can code differently that will help this run faster? Any advice would be really fantastic. We got so far on our own, but I can’t really find a way to get this to be more efficient.

Thanks a million,
Nitzan

//General fixed parameters for the experiment/models
  int<lower = 1> Nsubjects;           //number of subjects
  int<lower = 1> Ntrials;             //number of trials without missing data, typically the maximum of trials per subject
  int<lower = 1> Ntrials_per_subject[Nsubjects];  //number of trials left for each subject after data omission

//Behavioral data
  int<lower = 0> action[Nsubjects,Ntrials];        //index of which arm was pulled coded 1 to 4
  int<lower = 0> reward[Nsubjects,Ntrials];            //outcome of bandit arm pull

}
transformed data{
    int<lower = 1> Nparameters; //number of parameters
    int<lower = 2> Narms;       //number of overall alternatives

Nparameters=2;
    Narms      =4;
}

parameters {

//population level parameters 
  vector[Nparameters] mu;                    //vector with the population level mean for each model parameter
  vector<lower=0>[Nparameters] tau;          //vector of random effects variance for each model parameter
  cholesky_factor_corr[Nparameters] L_Omega; //lower triangle of a correlation matrix to be used for the random effect of the model parameters