Approach to use bayes_factor in brms

Hello. I’m new to Bayes analysis and brms and trying hard to wrap my head around this.
By using brms, I’d like to confirm the null effects I found with lme4.

I would like to get bayes factors for all possible main effects and interaction effects from the example model below (I used simplified variable names and code for readability).

brm(dv ~ ABC + (1|subject), family = bernoulli())

At first, I thought I can simply compare a model with a predictor I’m interested in with another model that doesn’t include the predictor as below:

full <- brm(dv ~ ABC + (1|subject))
m1 <- brm(dv ~ A + B + C + A:B + A:C + B:C + (1|subject)) # A:B:C removed from the full
BF for A:B:C <- bayes_factor(full, m1)

m2 <- brm(dv ~ A + B + C + A:C + B:C + (1|subject)) # A:B removed from m1
BF for A:B <- bayes_factor(m1, m2)

m3 <- brm(dv ~ A + B + C + B:C + (1|subject)) # A:C removed from m2
BF for A:C <- bayes_factor(m2, m3)

And repeat similar procedures for getting BFs for each main effect.
This procedure made sense to me at first, but then I came across this discussion here.

My question is whether the procedure illustrated above to get BF makes sense.
If not, I’d appreciate any suggestions or advice on how to compute BF for each main and interaction effect.

This vignette about Bayes Factors from the bayestestR package contains some useful information (in particular, the Comparing Models using Bayes Factors subsection).
Whether a Bayes Factor testing approach makes sense really depends on the conventions in your area of research, but there are definitely alternatives. See for example this paper by John Kruschke: Rejecting or accepting parameter values in Bayesian estimation

1 Like