1D integrator Stan model very slow

Hi, I’m new to Stan and Bayesian Inference in general. I’m running a model on a relatively small dataset - vector of 40 elements and a 40x40 covariance matrix. My model involves doing a 1D integration, though. And its been running very slow. I would appreciate suggestions on how I can improve the model performance.

Gradient evaluation took 2.34406 seconds
1000 transitions using 10 leapfrog steps per transition would take 23440.6 seconds.

IIUC, this means it should take about 10 hours to run with a sampling of 1500 iterations (500 of which are warmup). But the code is still running for close to 24 hours now.

I have attached text files containing the stan model and data.
cov.txt (39.9 KB)
data.txt (2.0 KB)
lcdm.stan (2.4 KB)

Link to jupyter notebook to load the data and run the model. The notebook also describes the math to make it easier to understand what the model is doing. - Google Colab

Note that the notebook was run locally on my Mac. The cell outputs are from the local run.

Also posting the code here for convenience

functions {
    //E(z)
   real e_func(real z, real Om, real Ode, real Ok) {
      real zp1, x;

zp1 = 1 + z;
      x = zp1 * zp1 * (Ok + Om*zp1) + Ode;

return sqrt(x); 
   }

//integrand function
   real integrand_fz(real z, real zc, array[] real theta,
                     array[] real z_r, array[] int z_i) {
    real ef;      
	ef = e_func((zc > 0 && zc < z) ? zc : z, theta[1], theta[2], theta[3]);
 return 1.0/ef;
   }

//f(z; params)
   real f_func(real z, real H, real Om, real Ode, real Ok, real c, data array[] real x_r, data array[] int x_i) {
	return (c/H)*integrate_1d(integrand_fz, 0.0, z, {Om, Ode, Ok}, x_r, x_i, 1.0e-8);
   }

//r(z; params) - comoving distance for a given redshift and model params
   real r_z(real z, real H, real Om, real Ode, real Ok, real c, data array[] real x_r, data array[] int x_i) {
      real fz;
      fz = f_func(z, H, Om, Ode, Ok, c, x_r, x_i);