Using Weibull PDFs to Model Bathtub Curve for Failure Rate Prediction

Hello Stanians, I’m still a novice at modeling so please mind my lack of structured definitions.

I’m trying to fit a Poisson model to predict failures in shipboard engines. I’ve come across some interesting methods to represent failure rate, notably the [Bathtub Curve]. So I implemented the functionality within my Poisson model by modeling \lambda as the sum of two Weibull PDFs, each representing early and wear-out failures. Additionally, in order to incorporate known features, such as the relative size proportion of the engine system and unique shiptypes, an additional coefficient is multiplied to wear-out, which consists of a linear combination of features and parameters.

The full model would be as follows:

y \sim \textrm{poisson}(\lambda_{ship,age}) \\ \textrm{log} \ \lambda_{ship, age} = \textrm{failure_form}(\alpha_{ship}, \beta_{ship}, age) + wear_{ship, age} \times \textrm{failure_form}(\gamma_{engine}, \delta_{engine}, age) \\ wear_{ship} = complexity_{ship} \times engine\_count_{ship} \times \eta_{engine} - \theta_{ship} \ \textrm{ln} \ relative\_displacement \\ \textrm{failure_form}(shape, scale, age) = \textrm{min}(\frac{shape}{scale}(\frac{age}{scale})^{shape - 1} e^{-(\frac{age}{scale})^{shape}}, 1.5) \\ \alpha \sim \textrm{normal}(0.5, 0.3), \, \alpha \in [0, \infty) \\ \beta \sim \textrm{normal}(1.2, 0.05), \, \beta \in [0, \infty) \\ \gamma \sim \textrm{normal}(2.5, 0.5), \, \gamma \in [0, \infty) \\ \delta \sim \textrm{normal}(1.2, 0.15), \, \delta \in [0, \infty) \\ \eta \sim \textrm{normal}(0.5, 0.7) \\ \theta \sim \textrm{normal}(0.2, 0.3)

complexity, engine_type, relative_displacement are features unique to each data. Age is normalized to [0, 1], which is used as the x value for Weibull PDF(failure_form).