Using a Generalized Beta Distribution of the Second Kind as a Prior in Linear Regression

So I’m considering a simple linear regression model with p = 1 predictors y = \beta x + \epsilon where \epsilon \sim N(0,\sigma^2). I want to use a generalised beta distribution of the second kind(GB2) as a prior for \beta and an inverse gamma distribution for \sigma^2, and then sample from the posterior distribution. Would this be doable using Stan? I noticed GB2 is not a built in.

Please keep in mind I am completely new to using Stan.

This certainly can be done.

A straightforward way to do this would be to define the log of the GB2 pdf in the functions block, then put a sampling statement in the model block for \beta, for example

\beta ~ GB2.lpdf(parm1, parm2, parm3, parm4);

To see how to construct the lpdf function, see the “User Defined Functions” section of the User Guide.

You could also use a “target” statement in the model block. But regardless do pay attention to whether you will be needing the normalizing additive constants from the sampling function. For newer Stan versions, there are different function extensions (like “lpdf”) for including it or not.

Just an aside: I have entertained using the GB2 distribution for scale parameters many times, but never main/mean parameters. I encourage you to have a good think-through about using this distribution for the mean parameters.

1 Like

Thank you for the advice.

I’m having some trouble implementing the GB2.lpdf function. I’ve looked at the user defined function section on the Stan website, although the syntax is taking some getting used to. It seems like the beta function is a defined function in Stan according to this 30.1 Beta | Stan Functions Reference but typing B(p,q) in the code gives an error saying that the function B(p,q) is not recognised. This is the code I have thus far. Note that the first shape parameter “a” is always 2 in my case, which Is what I have used here.

"functions{