Trouble running gamma model in brms

Hi all,

I’m attempting to run a model in brms with gamma distribution however, I’m not having much success. I’m new to brms (and modelling in general, honestly) so it’s very likely I’m missing something very simple.

My model is below. When I try to run this model I get the error message:
Error: The parameter ‘sigma’ is not a valid distributional or non-linear parameter. Did you forget to set ‘nl = TRUE’?

From what I understand this error message is suggesting I specify the model as non-linear, which actually I believe it is. However, I don’t know how to do this. I tried just adding nl= true to the model code but I still get the same error message. I tried it in a few different places without success. Instead of just continuing to aimlessly try to add it to different parts of the model I should probably gain a better understanding of where it belongs, why the error message says I need it, and what other information may be required to run this as a non-linear model. Any help and suggestions welcome!

Please let me know if there is any more information you require!

Thanks in advance.

m4_gam <-brm(bf(IVI ~ 1+ chicks + nestlingage + (1 + chicks + nestlingage| fyear) + (1 | fsite) + (1|fpair), 
                 sigma ~ fyear),
              data = data1, 
              family = Gamma(link = "log"),
              prior = NULL,
              warmup = 1000, 
              iter = 5000, 
              chains = 3,
              cores  = 2,
              control = list(adapt_delta = 0.99, max_treedepth = 15),
              backend = "cmdstanr", 
              threads = threading(2))

Hi Rebekah,

take this for what it is,

1. Gamma doesn’t have a ‘sigma’, right? I don’t know how it is parameterized here…
  2. If you want to model this with nl = TRUE then have a look here: Estimating Non-Linear Models with brms
  3. May I ask what IVI is? How does it look like, i.e., what type of variable is it?