Single source of error seasonal local level model: is this correct?

I am trying to gradually build up some single source of error state space models for revenue forecasting. I’m a relative newbie to STAN and want to ensure that my code is correct. I think it is, but I need feedback.

I’m building upon the multiple source of error (MSOE) state space code here:

data {
  int<lower=1> n;
  vector[n] y;
}
parameters {
  vector[n] mu;
  vector[n] seasonal;
  real<lower=0> sigma_level;
  real<lower=0> sigma_seas;
  real<lower=0> sigma_irreg;
}
transformed parameters {
  vector[n] yhat;
  yhat = mu + seasonal;
}
model {
  for(t in 4:n)
seasonal[t] ~ normal(- sum(seasonal[t-3:t-1]), sigma_seas);

for(t in 2:n)
mu[t] ~ normal(mu[t-1], sigma_level);

y ~ normal(yhat, sigma_irreg);
}

However, that does not use a single source of error, as I want. As a first pass, I want to use Hyndman’s exponential smoothing models as templates (e.g. here). The key difference between the SSOE and MSOE models is that in the code above, sigma_level and sigma_seas are multiples of the residual sigma_irreg. To use just a level example (omitting the seasons for space):

y_t = l_{t-1} + e_t
l_t = l_{t-1} + \alpha e_t

So if we know what l_{t-1} is, the expectation and variance of l_t are l_{t-1} and \alpha^2 \sigma^2, if e_t \sim N(0, \sigma^2). I think. I hope.

Because it lets me update the above code to:

data {
  int<lower=1> n;
  vector[n] y;
  int<lower=1> S;              // Seasons
}
parameters {
  vector[n] mu;
  vector[n] seasonal;
  real<lower=0, upper=1> alpha;                  // Level smoother
  real<lower=0, upper=1> gamma;                  // Seasonal smoother
  real<lower=0> sigma_irreg;
}
transformed parameters {
  real<lower=0> sigma_level;
  sigma_level = alpha * sigma_irreg;
  real<lower=0> sigma_seas;
  sigma_seas  = gamma * sigma_irreg;
  vector[n] yhat;
  yhat = mu + seasonal;
}
model {
  // Priors
  alpha ~ beta(2, 1);
  gamma ~ beta(2, 2);
  // Model
  for(t in S:n)