Rstan - generate multinomial distributions (ragged vectors)

I’m a complete novice in Rstan, and trying to generate multiple vectors from multinomial distributions. Since this should create ragged vectors, which is not supported in Rstan to my best knowledge, I bind all of them into one long vector.

Here’s my current R code to run the stan file,

n <- 50
    numInst_train <- sample(10:20, size = n, replace = T)

rstanfit <- stan(file = "rcode/MultiBayes.v1.stan",
                     data = list(n = n,
                                 numInst = numInst_train,
                                 m = sum(numInst_train)), 
                     chains = 1, 
                     iter = 10,
                     init = list(chain1 = list(hp_pi = unlist(rep(1 / numInst_train, numInst_train)),
                                               temp = rep(0, sum(numInst_train)))))

and this below is my stan file;

data {
      // information of input
      int n; // the number of samples
      int numInst[n]; // the number of instances in a bag
      int m; // Total number of instances
    }
    parameters{
      vector[m] temp;
      vector[m] hp_pi;
    }
    model{
      int delta[m]; // indicator of primary instances
      int pos = 1;
      for(jj in 1:n){
        segment(delta, pos, numInst[jj]) ~ multinomial(segment(hp_pi, pos, numInst[jj]));
        pos += numInst[jj];
      }
      for(jj in 1:m){
        temp[jj] ~ normal(delta[jj], 1);
      }
    }

Therefore, I’ve got an error message that says

Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.
Exception: multinomial_lpmf: Number of trials variable[1] is -2147483648, but must be >= 0!  (in 'model630cdd604c_MultiBayes' at line 15)

I’m using R 3.5.0, Windows, and stan 2.17.0.

It would be appreciated if anyone gives me your input here.

You are using delta in the model block before its elements have been filled in.