Request for code review: stan2tfp python wrapper

Hi,

My name is Adam Haber and I’m a neuroscience PhD student. A couple of months ago I’ve joined the stanc3 team, mostly working on the Tensorflow Probability backend. I’ve started working on a small python library that wraps the stan2tfp compiler. The goal (the way I see it, at least - would be happy to hear other thoughts!) is to enable python users to compile Stan programs to TFP models “without leaving the notebook”. There’s a repo with an initial version, but it can probably be much better. Here’s a simple example.

If anyone’s interested in having a look, it’d be much appreciated. Thanks!

Adam

6 Likes

This looks like a posteriordb sorta thing: Beta-release Bayesian Posterior Database

Maybe you can hook in there and get models to test for correctness.

The advantage of this over default Stan would be taking advantage of Tensorflow’s scalability, right? So big data stuff?

1 Like

This looks like a posteriordb sorta thing: Beta-release Bayesian Posterior Database
Maybe you can hook in there and get models to test for correctness

Thanks! I’ll look into it.

The advantage of this over default Stan would be taking advantage of Tensorflow’s scalability, right? So big data stuff?

Sure. Additional reasons might be:

1. Users who are used to TFP and/or like the TF ecosystem as a whole.
  2. Time-to-first-draw - the TFP code generation is nearly instantaneous.

There are probably other/better reasons, for me these seem like the main motivations…

1 Like

Looks very useful!

Ben mentioned correctness, but I would expect also that posteriordb and stan2tfp it would be very useful for testing efficiency and accuracy of alternative inference algorithms available for tfp.

It’d be compelling if there were models that could be fit in TFP but not in Stan. Or even ones that would be a lot faster in TFP.