Regression with measurement error in brms

Dear all, I just started learning Stan/brms and I was wondering if it’s possible to define a regression model in brms where one of the covariates is unknown and, in its place, I measured another covariate that represents the true covariate plus some error. More or less, like this (6.1 Bayesian measurement error model | Stan User’s Guide) example reported in Stan’s user manual. If so, can you please provide an example?

I checked the me() and mi() functions and the corresponding examples, but, I think, they can only be used to specify the standard deviation of the error, not a different covariate.

Welcome to discourse!

When we talk about a measurement error, typically what we mean is that we have measured some values for a covariate, but we assume that the true values are not identical to the measured values. In particular, me() in brms assumes that the differences between the measured values and the true values are independent identically distributed Gaussian variates with a known standard deviation.

To map this onto your problem, the covariate that you measured could be treated as the “uncertain” measurement. If you are willing to assume that the true values are distributed about your measured covariate as an i.i.d. Gaussian with known standard deviation, then me() is what you need. This is the second Stan program given at the link you posted. Otherwise, I think some additional details about what you want will be useful. Do you want to relax the assumption of independence? The assumption of known standard deviation? The assumption of a Gaussian?

Hi and thank you very much for your answer.

Thanks, now I think I understand it a little bit better. I tried to create an example with simulated data (see below) and I think everything works fine.

# packages
suppressPackageStartupMessages(library(brms))

# simulate data
set.seed(1)
n <- 250L
x <- rnorm(n) # the unmeasurable covariate