Problems setting initial value for ndt in Wiener model

Hi,

I’m new to brms and stan, so this might be a trivial question. I have been following Henrik Singmann’s tutorial for running the wiener model in brms. That worked, but I also wanted to run a model with intercepts. So I tried adapting my code based on the example from ‘Bayesian Item Response Modelling in R with brms and Stan’. Then I got an error that the initial values of ndt are set too high (i.e. higher than minimum RT), even though I try to initialize them close to zero ( list(temp_ndt_Intercept = -3) ). To try understand what was going on I ran the code from the paper (https://github.com/paul-buerkner/Bayesian-IRT-paper/blob/master/Bayesian-IRT.R), but that produced the same error:

Excerpt from error message:

Chain 4: Rejecting initial value:
Chain 4: Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.
Chain 4: Exception: Exception: wiener_lpdf: Random variable = 0.965, but must be greater than nondecision time = 1.04238 (in ‘model7d973fd9c0af_d908d4e2cda6f9128dad49c464cdc6b9’ at line 18)
(in ‘model7d973fd9c0af_d908d4e2cda6f9128dad49c464cdc6b9’ at line 157)

Chain 4:
Chain 4: Initialization between (-0.05, 0.05) failed after 100 attempts.
Chain 4: Try specifying initial values, reducing ranges of constrained values, or reparameterizing the model.
[1] “Error in sampler$call_sampler(args_list[[i]]) : Initialization failed.”
error occurred during calling the sampler; sampling not done
here are whatever error messages were returned
[[1]]
Stan model ‘d908d4e2cda6f9128dad49c464cdc6b9’ does not contain samples.

Code from paper:

library(tidyverse)
library(brms)

set ggplot theme

theme_set(bayesplot::theme_default())

set rstan options

rstan::rstan_options(auto_write = TRUE)
options(mc.cores = min(4, parallel::detectCores()))

data(“rotation”, package = “diffIRT”)
rotation <- rotation %>%
as_tibble() %>%
mutate(person = seq_len(n())) %>%
gather(“key”, “value”, -person) %>%