Probably I'm doing something wrong ... (beginner trying to predict epidemic growth)

Hi there,

I’m new to Stan and to statistical modelling generally (I come from a programming and, to a lesser extent, machine learning background) so bear with me here. As an exercise, I thought I’d try – like everyone these days, I suppose – modelling the cumulative number of COVID-19 cases per country.

As a first, simple, version, I tried this: the number of new cases every day equals the number of total cases x the average number of interactions every person has x the probability of an interaction resulting in an infection. (Obviously there are a lot of assumptions there.) Here is my code:

data {
    int<lower=1> N; // number of observations
    int<lower=1> K; // number of countries
    int<lower=0> y[N]; // observations
    int s[K]; // number of observations per country

// making predictions
    int<lower=1> N_test; // number of observations
    int<lower=1> M_test; // number of desired predictions
    int<lower=1> k_test; // index of country
    int<lower=0> y_test[N_test]; // observations
}
parameters {
    real<lower=0, upper=1> transmission_prob;
    real<lower=0> interaction_rate;
}
model {
    int pos;
    int interactions;
    int new_cases;

interaction_rate ~ normal(20, 20);
    transmission_prob ~ normal(0.125, 0.05);

pos = 1;
    new_cases = 0;
    interactions = 0;

for (k in 1:K) { // countries
        for (n in (pos+1):(s[k]+1)) { // days for country
            interactions ~ poisson(y[n-1] * interaction_rate);
            new_cases ~ binomial(interactions, transmission_prob);
            y[n] ~ poisson(y[n-1] + new_cases);
            pos = pos + s[k];
        }
    }
}
generated quantities {
    int predictions[M_test]; // predictions
    int predicted_interactions = 0;
    int predicted_new_cases = 0;
    int previous_value = y_test[N_test];
    for (m in 1:M_test) {
        predicted_interactions = poisson_rng(previous_value * interaction_rate);