Pp_check looking wild...how bad are they?

Hi all,
I ran some models with brms and my pp_checks look wild…Just wonder how bad are they…

I think it is because the distribution is bimodal and I run the code by default using gaussian. However, I’m facing a tricky situation (probably because I am really new to brms /dont know what I am doing):
So I have a 2 (B: present vs absent) 2 (C: high vs low) between subject design and I care more about group comparsions for the B
The code below is the model that come up with the first pp check…
F1.q23 ← brm(Q23 ~ B
C, data = F1, iter = 6000, sample_prior = ‘yes’,
prior = c(prior(normal(0, 6), class = “b”)))
f1.q23 ← emmeans(F1.q23, ~ B*C)
cont ← contrast(f1.q23, “tukey”, reverse = TRUE)
cont_p_f1 ← gather_emmeans_draws(cont)
mode_hdi(cont_p_f1)
median_qi(cont_p_f1)

I tried to set the family as mixture but emmeans wont run…
So will the wonky pp check of the model Q23 ~ B*C be a serious problem if I’m mainly interested in the contrasts?

Hey,
there are some things which could explain posteriors like you see here. One is that it could be a mixture of different distributions (e.g. normals).
How they come about is the actual question and you hinted at one possible explanation: Subject variance. It is a bit difficult to tell without seeing the input data and what the plots directly refer to, but how it looks to me is that there is something clearly not captured by the model which leads to different values (inside a group?) with an error around. The error you estimate though does not capture this grouping and tries to account for all the variance (global). So random effects should probably be included in your model.

Another explanation could be that you don’t exactly work with continuous data and it is artificially chopped into steps.

In summary:

Not “great” but you can identify the issues step by step :)