Posterior predictive check for linear multilevel model: am I doing it right?

Dear all

I am new to Stan, and as a learning exercise I wanted to estimate a Bayesian multilevel linear model for the sleepstudy dataset (in the lme4 package). The model have subject-specific intercepts and slopes, assumed to have a normal distribution across subjects, with (possibly) non-zero correlation. The model seems to run correctly, and I get estimates that are sufficiently close to what I obtain with lme4.

I wanted to simulate the model to do a posterior predictive check (estimating p \left( y^{\text{rep}} \mid y \right)). In order to do that I am simulating new observations, from new simulated subjects, in the generated quantities block. Is that the best way to proceed? It seems to work correctly (see plot; the blue bands represents the 95% percentile intervals of the distribution of simulated y^{\text{rep}})
Moreover, the only way I found to generate the random intercepts and slopes is with a loop. Is that the only way, or there is a more efficient way to generate directly a matrix of normal random variates with given variance-covariance matrix?

Thanks!

data {
  int<lower=1> N;                  // number of observations
  real RT[N];                      // reaction time (transformed in seconds)
  int<lower=0,upper=9> Days[N];    // predictor
  int<lower=1> J;                  // number of subjects
  int<lower=1,upper=J> Subject[N]; // subject id
}

parameters {
  vector[2] beta;               // fixed-effects parameters
  real<lower=0> sigma_e;        // residual std
  vector<lower=0>[2] sigma_u;   // random effects standard deviations
  cholesky_factor_corr[2] L_u;  // L_u is the Choleski factor of the correlation matrix
  matrix[2,J] z_u;              // random effect matrix
}

transformed parameters {
  matrix[2,J] u;
  u = diag_pre_multiply(sigma_u, L_u) * z_u; // use Cholesky to set correlation
}

model {
  real mu; // conditional mean of the dependent variable