Posterior of my non-centered parameterization (of intercepts hierarchical model) is *less* navigable than my centered parameterization

Hi Stan forum,

TL;DR I have a hierarchical model that I can’t figure out how to parameterize in a fully non-centered way. When I run the centered model it says the posterior geometry is too complex to navigate, and when I run my non-centered parameterization, the problems get substantially worse.

This is my first post here, and I feel like it’s much too long—please let me know if you see a way I could improve this post to make it easier to read or answer!

My background
I am new to Bayesian inference in general and Stan in particular, and I have run into a parameterization problem while analyzing some data I collected. I’ve read a decent amount of the relevant parts of McElreath and Stan docs, and I’m in a Bayesian class right now, but I clearly haven’t read enough to know what I’m doing. I have a background in proof-based mathematics.

Model Description
I have a 3-level intercepts-only hierarchical model (2 levels pooled, highest no pooling) to look at the distribution of frog calls across 5 populations. I have a bioacoustic metric for each individual frog call (“peak frequency,” indicated as x in this post), and I have between 10 to 500 calls per frog. I have about 10-30 frogs per population, and I have 5 total populations. I am investigating how the frogs interact with their environment by shifting their mean peak frequency, their standard deviation of peak frequency, and the variance of mean peak frequencies throughout the population. I have a total of ~27,000 peak frequency measurements.

Centered Model
My centered model (CP) is the folllowing:
x_i\sim\mathcal N(\overline x_{\textrm{frog}[i]},s_{\textrm{frog}[i]}) This is the peak frequency, the quantity I measured.
\overline x_{j}\sim\mathcal N(\mu_{\textrm{population}[j]},\sigma_{\textrm{population}[j]}) This is the by-frog mean peak frequency.