Poisson Vector Autoregression Model

I would like to reproduce a Poisson Vector Autoregression Model by Brandt and Sandler with stan (they used BUGS).

I found a basis for a Vector Autoregression (VAR) model at the depricated google mailing list: here and here.

Here is the respective code from Ryan Batt (thanks!):
VAR_p_cov.stan (1000 Bytes)

Essentially, I would like to insert a hierarchical layer, where the dependent variables are poisson distributed and the latent lambdas are modeled by the VAR process.

I have problems getting the latent lambdas into a matrix form. Forgive me if this is trivial; I am new to stan and any help is greatly appreciated.

That’s still back in our old syntax. Use = instead of <- for assignment. And you can also vectorize a lot more now and use a += b instead of a = a + b. And you can declare-define and slice arrays, so the transformed data is now a one-liner (I think I got the indexing right, but you should double check):

vector[M] Y_obs[T - P] = y[P + 1: ];

It’s definitely not trivial working with all these structures, especially when they’re rolled out into more efficient array of vector formats.

I don’t have time to go through the paper—is the idea just that you replace the continous Y with count data with an underlying continous log mean? If so, then you can declare a lambda with the same structure as Y for the latent parameter, and use that where you would have had Y before. Then take the observed Y and use

Y ~ poisson_log(lambda);

It’s important it be the Poisson on the log scale—that’s equivalent to Y ~ poisson(exp(lambda)).

1 Like

Thank you!

I updated the syntax.
The declare-define resulted in errors when I have multipe declarations. As far as I understand, all declarations need to be set first per block.

The idea is exactly that. Currently I am stuck with a sampling error:
Error evaluating the log probability at the initial value.