Parameter sign switching after warmup

Hi Stan users and experts,

I am new to Stan and have been trying to implement a choice model using Pystan. The sampling seems to be working fine except that the signs of some of the parameters are switched. For example, a parameter whose true value is 0.5 is estimated to be -0.5 by the sampler.

On further investigation, looking at the trace plots, I found that the parameter signs seem to be switching almost instantly as soon as warm-up finishes. As far as I know this shouldn’t be happening, so I wonder what the issue is? Thanks a lot for reading; have a good day/evening!

1 Like

Can you share your Stan code, or better yet your code + data for a full reproducible example?

2 Likes

Definitely need the code + data to be sure, but it sounds like what might be happening is some parameters are switching together, e.g. if you have y \propto \beta_1 \beta_2 then if both \beta_1 and \beta_2 switch signs, you get the value for y. In practice, this could lead to multiple posterior modes that fit the data equally well so you’d need additional constraints or stronger priors to avoid it.

1 Like

Yes, this is the probable cause.

Can you (op) check arviz plot_pair for multiple modes?

Hi @jsocolar, thanks for your reply. I would’ve liked to share the code and data here, but I am not sure I can do that before asking permission from someone else. I will do that.

Thanks for your repsonse @amas0. I’ve been working on this model for quite a while, and the way it was structured earlier, I was having this same issue when estimating it using a normal Gibbs sampling routine. I tweaked the model until this problem went away.