Parameter estimation for the sum of negative binomial distributions

Hi,

I am very new to Stan, and I would really appreciate some guidance and advice on modelling a problem. I have count data from three underlying sources. I assume each source can be modelled as a negative binomial distribution NB(r, p), where r is the number of failures until the experiment is stopped and p is the probability of a failure. So, my model is:

y \sim NB(r_1, p_1) + NB(r_2 p_2) + NB(r_3, p_3)

and I’d like to estimate the parameters of the NB distributions given the data y. But I thought this model is too complicated to solve even with Stan (please correct me if I’m mistaken). So, I make a simplifying assumption that p_1 = p_2 = p_3 = p, and so my model is now:

y \sim NB(r_1 + r_2 + r_3, p)

I also have some additional information I can leverage. For some of the y, the data only comes from either one or two sources, such that:

y_X \sim NB(r_1, p)
y_Y \sim NB(r_1 + r_2, p)
y_Z \sim NB(r_1 + r_2 + r_3, p)

and I’m given y_X, y_Y, and y_Z. I also know that r_1 < r_2 << r_3. Hopefully, this description is clear. I’ve constructed the model below:

data {
  int<lower=0> NX;
  int<lower=0> yX[NX];
  int<lower=0> NY;
  int<lower=0> yY[NY];
  int<lower=0> NZ;
  int<lower=0> yZ[NZ];
}
parameters {
  positive_ordered[3] r;
  real<lower=0.0, upper=1.0> p;
}
model {
  real muX;
  real muZ;
  real muY;

real sigmaSqX;
  real sigmaSqY;
  real sigmaSqZ;

real phiX;
  real phiY;
  real phiZ;

muX = ((r[1] * (1 - p)) / p); 
  muY = (((r[1] + r[2]) * (1 - p)) / p);
  muZ = ((((r[1] + r[2]) + r[3]) * (1 - p)) / p); 

sigmaSqX = (((r[1] * (1 - p)) / p) ^ 2); 
  sigmaSqY = ((((r[1] + r[2]) * (1 - p)) / p) ^ 2);
  sigmaSqZ = (((((r[1] + r[2]) + r[3]) * (1 - p)) / p) ^ 2); 

phiX = (muX ^ (2 / (sigmaSqX - muX))); 
  phiZ = (muZ ^ (2 / (sigmaSqZ - muZ)));
  phiY = (muY ^ (2 / (sigmaSqY - muY)));

p ~ beta(0.001,10);
  r[1] ~ gamma(0.01,0.01);
  r[2] ~ gamma(0.01,0.01);
  r[3] ~ gamma(5,10);