P-value estimation by montecarlo sampling

Many fields want researcher to publish p-values as criterion for result significance.

A good way to compute p-value of a generative model is to:

1. compute likelihood of observation
  2. sample likelihood values with the generative process
  3. Use a simple estimator comparing the sampled likelihood to the observations

I’m fairly new to Stan, but it seems to me that target could be used for 1. But I have no clue how to do step 2. I saw a useful link for step 3: 26.3 Posterior ``p-values’’ | Stan User’s Guide

Is there a code snippet I could use?

Also, shouldn’t there be a simple interface for this p-value computation, given how frequent it is needed?

Morning and welcome!

The short of it (me speaking as an individual, not for the whole community here): P-values don’t have a place in Bayesian workflows. That said you will see some folks that have code external to Stan that can wrangle something like those out.

If you are looking for strategies to help bring around reviewers, co-workers, colleagues, and such to a better way (Bayesian models in Stan) of quantifying uncertainty there are folks who can help out here.

2 Likes

As @Ara_Winter says, you’d be doing something Stan wasn’t built for. It’ll probably be more effort-efficient to code your likelihood in R or Python and simulate from that. Using Stan for this would involve passing in the point estimates representing your null model’s parameters , then using generated quantities to simulate data from it, collapse to a summary stat, and computing the same summary stat on the real data, then a binary 1/0 whether the real summary stat is bigger than the simulated summary stat, then cmdstan’s generate quantities method will produce a sequence of 1/0s that you collapse to a mean to define your p-value. All way easier outside of Stan frankly.

2 Likes