Ordinal Regression Predicted Label Evaulation

Hi All,

I’m new to Bayesian modeling so forgive me if I’ve missed this concept in my reading.

I’m trying to build an ordinal regression model to do the following. I have a set of clinical variables based on a set of guidelines that physicians are supposed to use to classify the severity of a disease (mild, mild to moderate, moderate, moderate to severe, severe), along with the actual label they assigned to a patient. I’ve modeled this using brms as a category specific adjacent category model.

model.acat.1 <- brm(formula = severity_label ~ 
                 cs(var_1) + 
                 cs(var_2) +
                 cs(var_3) +
                 cs(var_4) + 
                 cs(var_5),
    family = acat(link = "logit"),
    data = df.model.cc,
    chains = 4,
    cores = 4, 
    inits = "0", 
    backend = "cmdstanr",
    threads = threading(threads = 12),
    prior = prior(class = "b", normal(0,4)),
    file = "model_fits/continuous_ordinal_acat"
    )

My goal is to be able to compare the predicted labels from this model to the physician assigned label to see relative to the guidelines a.) Given a label category which variable(s) might physician “lean on” the most when assigning a severity label, b.) how well does this model predict the physicians assigned, c.) if model is good then use it to label a set of unlabeled reports for later analysis.

What I’m stuck on is how to assess b, while I could use WIAC or LOO I’m not really looking for model comparison out of sample. What I’m trying to do is understand given something like a “crosstabs” table what proportion of the time (draws) from say mild(prediction) and mild (labeled) do they align correctly. My initial hypothesis is that some label pairs have wider uncertainty than others so overall measures of model performance isn’t helpful, I need label pair specific comparisons.

Is there another method out there that I’m missing?

Thank you!

1 Like