Odds ratio for ordinal regression

Hi everyone,

I am new to brms package and ordinal regression, so my question might be kind of obvious, but I couldn’t find an answer for it. I’m analyzing Likert (9 points) data from a study about the influence of verbal labeling on perceived pleasantness of odors. Overall, the models I’ve made look good. I did cumulative and adjacent category models trying to understand this data set from different perspectives. It’s clear that depending on the verbal label participants chose mostly either 9 over 1 or in the second condition this disproportion is smaller. If I understand correctly, in an adjacent category model I can calculate odds ratio for choosing 1 over 2, or 3 over 4, etc… Is there a way to calculate odds ratio of choosing X point on the scale over point Y [where Y is not adjacent to X], i.e. 9 over 1? Below I paste my summary table and marginal effects plot, I hope it helps.

Cheers!

Hi and welcome to the community. I’m not really sure this is what you’re after but the estimates you get are on the log-cumulative-odds scale if I remember correctly. If you want the cumulative probabilities then you simply do:

> library(brms)
> inv_logit(c(0.8, 0.02,-0.31,-0.64,-0.34,-0.36, -0.12,-1.04))
[1] 0.6899745 0.5049998 0.4231147 0.3452465 0.4158095 0.4109596 0.4700359 0.2611500

of course, you can simply do (hmm, one of these at least): inv_logit(fixef(mod_2_pine)) or inv_logit(coef(mod_2_pine)), I guess?