Non-linear least squares fitting Issue

Hi,

I am new to stan and was hoping to use it to fit some mass spec data. I have normalized the data and believe that it should be the addition of two skewed gaussians. I was working from this guide and modified it to be the sum of two skewed gaussians. I have tried the following code but seem to be misunderstanding how to correctly define my model. Any help would be appreciated!

Best,
Matt

stan_code="""
data {
 int<lower = 0> N;
 vector[N] y;
}

parameters {
  ordered[2] xi;
  real<lower=0> alpha[2];
  real<lower=0> omega[2];

}

model {
 xi ~ normal(0,1);
 alpha ~ normal(0, 2);
 omega ~ normal(0,2);
 for (n in 1:N)

target += log_sum_exp(skew_normal_lpdf(y[n] | xi[1], alpha[1],omega[1]),
                        skew_normal_lpdf(y[n] | xi[2], alpha[2],omega[2]));

}
"""

Attached is the data
data1.csv (9.2 KB)

I have tried to simply my model to fit a single gaussian and basing it off of this post. I am still unable to fit the model unfortunately

"""

functions {
    real phi(real x, real mu, real sigma){
        return 1 / (sigma * sqrt(2 * pi())) * exp(-(x - mu)^2/(2 * sigma^2));
    }
}

data {
 int<lower = 0> N;
 vector[N] y;
 vector[N] x;
}

parameters {
  real m;
  real<lower=0> sigma;
  real<lower=0> s;
}

model {
    //priors
    m ~ normal(0, 1);
    s ~ normal(0,1);
    sigma ~ normal(0,1);

for(i in 1:N){
        y[i] ~ normal(phi(x[N], m, s),  sigma);
}
}
"""

Hey Matt,

I haven’t tried fitting your model myself, but what happens if you do?

The model takes long to fit? What does eg CmdStan’s diagnose method say?

Thanks for the reply Funko! The model is able to be built but I receive the following error message when I run it using pystan

Adjust your expectations accordingly!
  Informational Message: The current Metropolis proposal is about to be rejected because of the following issue: