Non convergence issue on polytomous IRT model

Hi! I am a baby Stan modeler and I have been trying to fit a polytomous IRT model (i.e., Nominal response model) using simulated response data.

The nominal response model (NRM; Bock, 1972) models the probability of an examinee j with a latent ability trait \theta selecting a category of k of an item i as

P(u_{ij}=k|\theta _j) = \frac{\exp(a_{ik}\theta_j +c_{ik})} {\sum_{k=1}^{m_i}\exp({a_{ik}\theta_j}+c_{ik})}.

In NRM each category of an item i has its slope parameter a_{ik} and intercept parameter c_{ik} and each item has as many slope and intercept parameters as the number of categories. For example, if an item has 4 categories, then the item i will have a vector of 4 slope parameters and 4 intercept parameters.

So I implemented the NRM model in Stan with the simulated response data (which is attached) Fatigue_NRM_sim_resp_20.csv (39.2 KB) as the following:

resp <- resp+1  
N <- nrow(resp)
T <- ncol(resp)
data_nrm<-list(n_student = N,n_item=T,response=resp,K=5)

nrm <- "
  data{
    int<upper=5> K; //  number of categories
    int <lower=0> n_student; //  number of individuals
    int <lower=0> n_item; //  number of items
    int<lower=1,upper=K> response[n_student,n_item]; //array of responses
  }

parameters {
    vector[K] zeta[n_item]; // intercept
    vector[K] lambda[n_item]; // slope
    vector[n_student] theta; // latent trait
  }

transformed parameters {
    vector[K] zetan[n_item]; // centered intercept
    vector[K] lambdan[n_item]; // centered slope

for (k in 1:n_item) {
     for (l in 1:K) {
			  zetan[k,l]<-zeta[k,l]-mean(zeta[k]);
 		        lambdan[k,l]<-lambda[k,l]-mean(lambda[k]);
}}

}

model{
    theta ~ normal(0,1);
    for (i in 1: n_item){
    zeta[i] ~ normal(0,4);
    lambda[i] ~ normal(0,4);
    }
   for (i in 1:n_student){
      for (j in 1:n_item){
        response[i,j] ~ categorical_logit(zetan[j]+lambdan[j]*theta[i]);
  }
   }
}
"