Non-centered parameterization for non-hierarchical parameters?

Hello all. I am very familiar with the non-centered reparameterization for hierarchical parameters aka the classic “Matt trick”; I use this all the time. Less commonly, I’ve also seen non-centering used in a non-hierarchical context. My conceptual understanding of this second usage is that it involves shifting and scaling a primitive parameter by the (known) approximate posterior mean and SD of its unscaled analog to make it closer to N(0,1) and improve adaptation of the mass matrix. I’ve never done this before, but now I have a use case with a few additional wrinkles and I’d appreciate some advice on whether I’m thinking about this right or (more likely) not.

A cartoon of the relevant portions of the model I’m fitting looks something like this (backstory here if anyone’s really interested, but it’s not necessary):

data {
  int<lower=1> N;        // sample size
  vector<lower=0>[N] S;  // observed spawners
  vector<lower=0>[N] C;  // known catch
  real<lower=0> sigma;   // penalty scale 
}

parameters {
  vector<lower=0,upper=1>[N] h;  // catch rate
}

transformed parameters {
  vector<lower=0>[N] S_hat;  // predicted spawners
  // do some stuff that includes using h and calculating S_hat
}

model {
  // likelihood (penalty)
  C ~ lognormal(log(S_hat) + logit(h), sigma);
}