Non-centered parameterization for basic spline

Hi there,

I am quite new to stan and trying to fit a time course with 60 samples by the basic spline. Since I have the measurement error of each data point, I was planning to embed measurement error in the model so that the posterior of the weight of each knot will consider the uncertainty due to measurement error. The following model #1 worked but had some divergent transitions. Then I tried to make a noncentered one as model #2 in which I just reparametrized normal distribution by mu + z*sigma. This model went through like 50 times fasters than the previous one without any divergent transition, but it seems did not fit the data so that the weights were just zeros with large std around 10 (e.g. similar to the prior of weights). Could you please help to debug? Thanks a lot.

model #1

data{
  int num_knots;
  vector[60] timecourse_se;
  vector[60] timecourse_obs;
  matrix[60,8] B;
}
parameters{
  vector[60] timecourse_true;
  vector[num_knots] w;
  real<lower=0> sigma;
}
model{
  vector[60] timecourse_bar;
  sigma ~ exponential( 1 );
  w ~ normal( 0 , 10 );
  for ( i in 1:60 ) {
    timecourse_bar[i] = B[i] * w;
  }
  timecourse_true ~ normal( timecourse_bar , sigma );
  timecourse_obs ~ normal( timecourse_true , timecourse_se );
}

Model #2

data{
  int num_knots;
  vector[60] timecourse_se;
  matrix[60,8] B;
}
parameters{
  vector[num_knots] w;
  real zbar;
  real z;
  real<lower=0> sigma;
}
model{
  vector[60] timecourse_true;
  vector[60] timecourse_bar;
  sigma ~ exponential( 1 );
  z ~ normal( 0 , 1 );
  zbar ~ normal( 0 , 1 );
  w ~ normal( 0 , 10 );
    timecourse_bar[i] = B[i] * w;
  }
    timecourse_true[i] = timecourse_bar[i] + zbar * sigma;
  }
    timecourse_obs[i] = timecourse_true[i] + z * timecourse_se[i];
  }
}

I fear you’ve misunderstood what non-centered parametrization is. Non-centered parametrization for a vector of variables x really is just moving from:

parameters {
  vector[N] x;