Newly-Specified BHM Returns "Initialization Failed" (Edited)

Edit: I’ve heavily reworked the model and cleared all error messages, but I’m still getting back NaN values from MatlabStan and empty .csv files. I’m updating the code below in this edit

Hey all,

I am really new at Stan and have taken on the challenging project of converting an MLE-specified model into a Bayesian hierarchical model. Debugging had been going smoothly, with my code eventually compiling, and with it throwing exceptions when indices or dimensions of the data were off, but now I’ve come up against the wall of this error:

output-1.csv: Initialization failed.
output-2.csv: Initialization failed.
output-3.csv: Initialization failed.
output-4.csv: Initialization failed.

I don’t have the expertise to recognize obviously wrong code, and, for all I know, I’ve really mucked things up. But, hopefully, this is a series of relatively minor fixes in my syntax or model specification. I’m including my code below. The logic of the code is: the log likelihood model is specified with the parameters and stimuli the participant was presented with, each of these parameters having a prior and a hyperprior. The only participant data is the response matrix.

My version of Stan is 2.26.1, and I’m interfacing through MatlabStan-2.15.1.0

I’ve checked the data and it is free of NaNs, and the length of the orientation vector matches the length of the response matrix.

I appreciate any help or advice.

functions {

//custom function for lognormal inverse CDF
	row_vector logncdfinv(row_vector x, real m, real s) {							

int sz;												//declaring size variable
		sz = size(x);											//calculating size variable
		row_vector[sz] y;										//declaring return variable
		y = exp( s .* sqrt(2) .* inv_erfc( -2 .* x + 2 ) + m );						//calculating result

return y;											//returning result

}

//likelihood model for CASANDRE