Modeling real valued annotation process

Hello,

I am new to Bayesian modeling and want to model annotator behavior in a real-valued annotation process:

• Annotators assign a real value in the closed interval [0, 5] to items, with a step size of 0.2
  • Each item is annotated by two different annotators
  • There are a total of ~20 annotators and several thousand items.

The distribution of annotated values is skewed towards the top end of the range, with 20% of annotations equal to 5, around 50% of annotations greater than 4, and almost no values at the lower end.

I started off with the simplest model I could think off, modeling each annotation as normally distributed around a latent ground truth with annotator dependent variance. The model is given here:

data {
  int<lower=1> J; //number of annotators
  int<lower=1> N; //number of annotations, 2*I
  int<lower=1> I; //number of items
  array[N] int<lower=1,upper=I> ii; //the item the n-th annotation belongs to
  array[N] int<lower=1,upper=J> jj; //the annotator which produced the n-th annotation
  array[N] real y; // the n-th annotation
}

parameters {
   array[J] real<lower=0> sigma; // Noise of annotator j
   array[I] real x; // Ground Truth Annotations
}

model {
  for (n in 1:N) {
    y[n] ~ normal(x[ii[n]], sigma[jj[n]]);
  }
}

I sample from the posterior using default settings: 4 chains, 1000 warmup steps, 1000 sampling steps. The result of diagnosing the sample is here:

Checking sampler transitions treedepth.
5 of 4000 (0.12%) transitions hit the maximum treedepth limit of 10, or 2^10 leapfrog steps.
Trajectories that are prematurely terminated due to this limit will result in slow exploration.
For optimal performance, increase this limit.

Checking sampler transitions for divergences.
2 of 4000 (0.05%) transitions ended with a divergence.
These divergent transitions indicate that HMC is not fully able to explore the posterior distribution.
Try increasing adapt delta closer to 1.