Model specification to combine two independent datasets

Hi everyone,
I am new to Stan and brms - thank you in advance for any recommendation or insights, and hopefully this post is appropriate here (my sincere apologies if it is not).

I am in the process of combining two independent, large datasets. One dataset (data1) included abundance data for n species across time. Each row in data1 represent an abundance value from a study, at a site, in a given year. The other dataset (data2) include multiple independent measures for a body size of the n species in data1. Each row in data2 has one body size estimate for a species; some species have multiple measurements for body size. Data2 also has an additional column describing the taxon for which body size is reported (e.g., plants vs. animals).

I would like to incorporate the effect of body size and taxon from data2 in the a model predicting changes in abundance ~ year from data1. I want to test how body size and taxon affect the slope of the relationship between abundance of a species and time (year).

I have limited experience with BUGS language and I am aware that there are multiple ways to tackle this question, from complex hierarchical models to more simple random effects in a GLMM fashion. I was wondering what would the stan community recommend in this specific case. I would be keen in using brms give the large size of my data table. I used dplyr::full_join() to combine data1 and data2. In this table, each abundance time series in data1 is repeated as many times as a taxon body size is reported in data2. This “final” table counts millions of rows.

The model that I am working on right now has random intercepts and slope for the effects of time and body size, a fixed random effect on species, and a fixed effect of taxon

abundance ~ year + (year | study_ID_data1/site) +
body_size + (body_size | study_ID_data2) +
(1 | species) +
taxon