Mixture models with different number of parameters. List-like datastructure?

I am fairly new to stan and learning by just playing around with a few different models, but I’ve now run into a difficulty with the programming constructs available.

I’m looking at an AR(p) model (you can see all the code here, suggestions welcome) and wanted to experiment with model order selection by setting up a finite mixture. Say I have a likelihood ar_lpdf(y, b) where b are the coefficients b(1), ..., b(p) of the autoregression y(t) = \sum_{\tau = 1}^p b(\tau)y(t - \tau) + v_t. Since p is itself a parameter, I’d like to create a mixture model roughly as follows

{
    vector[p_max] theta;  // mixture weights
    vector[1] b_1 ~ prior();
    vector[2] b_2 ~ prior();
    vector[p_max] b_p_max ~ prior();

vector[p_max] lpdf;
    for(p in 1:p_max){
        lpdf[p] = log(theta[p]) + ar_lpdf(y, b_p);
    }
    target += log_sum_exp(lpfd);
}

so that the data y is AR(p) with probability \theta_p. The difficulty here is with the “...” in the pseudo-code. How do I properly keep track of the coefficients for each model? It’s not entirely clear to me how this should be done since each component of the mixture has a different number of parameters.

My current understanding tells me that the only options are to use matrix[p_max, p_max] B; where B[p, tau] = 0 whenever tau > p. Or to store everything in vector[(p_max * p_max - p_max) / 2] b; and manually do the index calculations.

However, it would be much more natural to store variable length vectors in a list, something like

{
    list[p_max] b_list;
    for(p in 1:p_max){
        vector[p] b ~ prior();
        b_list[p] = b;
    }
}