Mark-recapture-like STAN model

Hello,

I am new to the STAN forum so bear with me if I’ve posted in the wrong category. The post could just as easily fit into the General category too, or even the Publicity category as well. Apologies too if the post is rather long.

I am interested in employing STAN and provide some background, as well as a proposed STAN program below on a problem of deep interest to me that I have been working on from various angles for my PhD. However, I am experiencing difficulty with correctly specifying the model.

Background

My work involves the estimation of sample sizes for DNA barcoding, a technique to identify species based on short regions of their DNA, that has myriad applications from monitoring invasive species, to combatting seafood fraud.

Researchers in this field are eager to know how many individuals of a given species to collect in order to capture a given fraction of genetic diversity that may exist for that species. Naive estimates of necessary sample sizes range from 5-10 individuals per species, but this is far from sufficient.

The problem is, we don’t actually know how much genetic diversity actually exists for any species of interest, because we cannot sample all specimens of that species. So, Assumption 1 is that the collected sample accurately reflects the population of interest. This is probably far from true.