Marginalizing over discrete parameter with gamma distribution

Hi, I am having some trouble figuring out how to marginalize a discrete parameter in my model. I have never done this before and I couldn’t figure out how to apply any of the explanations I found online.

The problem I am working on is estimating the proportion of COVID-19 infections that end up in the hospital (hospitalProp). In a simplified version of the problem, I have for several different locations the following data:

• hospitalizations: Number of hospitalizations (integer)
  • population: The population at the location (integer)
  • seroprevShape, seroprevRate: The shape and rate parameters of a gamma distribution over real values between 0 and 1, that described the distribution over the proportion of people that have been infected in the population (which I extract from seroprevalence studies)

Then, my model consists in the following:

Seroprevalence[N] \sim gamma(shape[N], rate[N])
Infections[N] = Population[N] \times Seroprevalence[N]
Hospitalizations[N] \sim Binomial(Infections[N], hospitalProp)

I would try to implement it the following way, but I cannot because of the discrete parameter (infections).

data {
  int<lower=0> N;                      // number of observations
  int population[N];                    // population count
  vector[N] seroprevShape;      // Prevalence gamma shape
  vector[N] seroprevRate;         // Prevalence gamma rate
  int hospitalizations[N];            // outcome count
}

parameters {
  // Countries outcome fit
  real<lower=0, upper=1> hospitalProp;      // hospitalization proportion
  vector[N] prevalence;                                // underlying prevalence at each location
}

transformed parameters {
  int infections[N];                        // number of infections at each location
  infections = prevalence .* population;
}

model {
  hospitalizations ~ binomial(infections, hospitalProp);
}