Lognormal Hierarchical Distribution Fitting

Hi All, I’m just getting started with Stan and I’m having a little trouble. The thing I’m interested in doing is basically hierarchical distribution fitting of insurance claim amounts by state. I’ve simulated (from a lognormal distribution) 50 claim amounts for the state of IL, 20 in the state of WI, and 5 in the state of MN, with each state having different lognormal parameters mu and sigma. From what I’ve read, the hierarchical approach should get me to a credibility weighting between a pooled (all states combined) and unpooled (each state individually) estimate for each state. So for IL I would expect the parameter estimates to be closer to the unpooled estimates because it has 50 claims and MN should be closer to the pooled estimate because it has only 5 claims.

I’ve included the stan code for 3 different models below. I first run a pooled version, then each state individually, then an unpooled version, and then the partial pooling version. I ran each state individually and then compared that to the unpooled estimates to help me understand if I was creating the unpooled model correctly but also to verify that I got the same parameter estimates. They are pretty close, but don’t match exactly. So that is my first question: why don’t the unpooled estimates for each state match the individual state estimates?