Joint model yields inflated association

I am using a multivariate joint model to test for main and interactive effects of two longitudinal timeseries on survival. It’s working almost as expected, except that one of the two longitudinal effects yields weirdly inflated associations. I have tried a univariate joint model, various association structures, and also working with different data subsets, but the effect remains, or becomes even bigger (like, 10^9 ridiculously big).
I don’t know what this means and how I can fix it. Because I am new to bayesian modelling, I am also not sure which additional information provide.

EDIT: I added the association structure, which I forgot to provide for this post.

survival_jm_full <-
  stan_jm(
    formulaLong = list(
      Pigmentation ~ Time_num * Food  + (1|Fam_Ind),
      Length ~ Time_num *  Food + (1|Fam_Ind)
      ),
    dataLong = mod_data_longi,
    formulaEvent = survival::Surv(Time_num, Survival) ~ Food,
    dataEvent = mod_data_event,
    assoc = list(c("etavalue", "etavalue_etavalue(2)", "etaslope_data(~ Food)"), 
             c("etavalue", "etaslope_data(~ Food)")),
    time_var = "Time_num",
    chains = 4, cores=8, seed = 12345, iter = 1000) 

• Operating System: Ubuntu 18.04
  • rstanarm Version: 2.18.2
1 Like

If something in the posterior is implausible it could mean that there’s some prior information that isn’t included. So maybe a more informative prior is needed. I’m not
so familiar with these models but maybe @sambrilleman has some ideas?

@mluerig This looks like it is almost certainly a bug.

The model you’ve specified uses the default association structure (i.e. assoc = "etavalue"), meaning that the expected value for Pigmentation and the expected value for Length should be included as time-varying covariates in the survival submodel. That would correspond to a model with two association parameters.