Interpreting output of gamma model

Hi,

Hello, as you may have guessed from all my questions here, I am very new to Bayesian modeling! I have a dataset containing 3 groups’ sentiment score data, from 0 to -4 (this is a continuous variable), and my goal is to determine if there is an effect by group. To model it, I converted it to postive (*-1) so that close to 0 is actually less negative than a score of 4 (as 4 is actually -4).

After following many online tutorials, I settled on a gamma score (did LOO of different families) - model below:

Family: gamma 

Links: mu = inverse; shape = identity
Formula: transformedsent ~ group + (1 | id)
Data: df (Number of observations: 1856)
Samples: 20 chains, each with iter = 2000; warmup = 1000; thin = 1;
total post-warmup samples = 20000

The output is as follows:

Group-Level Effects: 
~id (Number of levels: 1856) 
              Estimate Est.Error l-95% CI u-95% CI Rhat Bulk_ESS Tail_ESS
sd(Intercept)     0.40      0.16     0.04     0.65 1.01     2289     2424

Population-Level Effects: 
Intercept       2.55      0.09     2.38     2.74 1.00     6787    13508
group 2         1.22      0.14     0.95     1.50 1.00    27476    15066
group 3.        1.29      0.15     1.00     1.58 1.00    24998    15147

Family Specific Parameters: 
shape     1.65      0.06     1.54     1.76 1.00     7659    11316

So group 2 and 3 are different in sentiment to group 1 (as 95%CI don’t cross 0) but how do I interpret the estimate? Do I need to log? Transform something? How would I make this into a sentence? I’m confused as when I plot the conditional effects, I don’t understand what is on the y axis? Attached is the plot.

Thank you for your patience in helping me to understand!

Screenshot 2021-05-20 at 18.22.45

Hi. Could you try to write out the model in plain mathematical/statistical notation (you may already know this, but the forum supports \LaTeX for you to type the expressions)?