Interpreting multivariate versus univariate models

• I am running brms 2.13.1 on MacOS 10.14.6

Hello folks,

I am quite new to brms (and multi-level modelling), so I apologise in advance for any basic and obvious questions. I would like to gain a clearer understanding of the difference between a multivariate model (with correlated grouping variables) and a univariate model (with covariates). Essentially, I want to know how similar (or not) the conclusions / interpretations can be from these different models. Details on the models are as follows.

Multivariate model:

I have a multivariate model with three dependent variables (DVs). More specifically, I have one primary DV (DV1) and two that help qualify the primary DV. As such, some of the DVs (DVs 2 and 3) can also be considered as covariates in a univariate model – see below. I also have some factors and a bunch of human participants. The DVs/predictors are different rating scales (from 1-5) based on evaluating a set of images. I also have a factorial design, such that the images fall into different categories. Below is an example model (it takes hours to build hence why I have not included a reproducible version). I only include one factor below for simplicity. I have a varying intercept for ‘item’ = the image (or stimulus) and a varying intercept and slope for participant, which is treated as a correlated grouping variable. The model is here:

brm(mvbind(DV1, DV2, DV3) ~ 1 + factor +
            (1 + factor |a| participant) +
            (1|item),
        data = data, family = cumulative("probit"),
        prior = priors,
        iter = 6000, warmup = 1000, cores = 4, chains = 4,
        control = list(adapt_delta = 0.99, max_treedepth = 15),
        init_r = 0.1)

Univariate model:
(I understand that the DV2 and 3 are now predictors, but I wanted to keep the same labelling as above)

brm(DV1 ~ 1 + DV2 + DV3 + factor + 
            (1 + DV2 + DV3 + factor | participant) +
            (1|item),