Interpretation brms results

I want to make a bayesian multilevel for data with a panel structure. Therefore, I use the brms package. I started by making a standard multilevel model where only the intercept is group dependent and just one explanatory variable using the following command:

brm(log(Activations) ~ Share_total_market + (1 | ID), data = test_data, chains = 4, iter = 5000, warmup = 2000, save_model = “test_code_stan.txt”, cores = getOption(“mc.cores”, 4L))

Everything works perfectly, but I have a question regarding the interpretation of the results. When I look at the results using the summary() function, I only see the standard deviation of the group-level intercept. I expected to also see an estimate for the mean of this group-level intercept, but I don’t know why this is not displayed. Can someone explain how to interpret this result and why I don’t get to see the mean estimate? I am completely new to stan and brms, so please ask for further clarification if my question is not clear. Many thanks in advance!

1 Like

Look under “Population-Level Effects”

Ah oke, so the estimate of the intercept under “Population-level effects” is the estimate of the mean of the posterior distribution of the intercept and under “Group-Level effects” you can find the estimated standard deviation of this distribution?

Correct.

Oke thank for you answers! So, if I am correct with my example you estimate \alpha_{i} \sim N(\gamma, \sigma), where the posterior distribution of \gamma is summarized in “Population-level effects” and the posterior distribution for \sigma is summarized in “Group-Level effects”? Here the normal distribution is just an example

1 Like

Correct.

1 Like

Thanks!