Intermediate between mean-field and full-rank ADVI

Hello,

I’m new to using the VB algorithm in Stan. I’m wondering if it’s sensible (and possible) to use an intermediate between the mean-field approximation and full-rank VB. I’m working with a latent variable model with a large number of parameters (10k+) and I’m getting promising results with the mean-field approximation. I’d like to use something closer to the full-rank approximation; however, as expected, it isn’t feasible with this many parameters due to memory constraints. I have prior knowledge about which subsets of parameters I expect to exhibit correlated posteriors. Is it possible to express this somehow in my Stan model? In case it matters, I usually use PyStan.

Walter

1 Like

Low-rank covariance matrix approximation would be sensible and there are a few papers demonstrating useful results. Currently this is not implemented in Stan. It would not be a huge amount of work to add it by modifying the current fullrank algorithm, but that much work anyway that I don’t know who would have time to do it in near future. This could be potentially a good project for someone new interested in vb.

Thanks for the answer. Where would one start if they were interested in contributing a low-rank algorithm? I just read over some of this code here, so based on this I guess it basically amounts to mostly implementing this interface, and properly managing the various lower Cholesky factors in block-diagonal form? I guess maybe deciding on the API (for describing the desired blocks of variables) would be tricky too. My C++ skills are rusty but I’m considering working on it in my spare time. Where does hypothetical feature discussion normally take place - is opening a GitHub issue appropriate?

I was thinking a simpler form of diagonal + reduced rank covariance. See, e.g. Improving Variational Approximations | Andrew Miller and [1701.03208] Gaussian variational approximation with a factor covariance structure