Inferring parameters of a population from duration bounds

Hi All

I am a student in Simon Maskell’s (@s.maskell) research group and have been using Stan in a project with Evergreen Life. I am running into issues forming a model that is both able to recover parameters from simulated data and fit to real data without generating diagnostic errors.

To give some context: Evergreen Life created a health and wellness app and at the start of the pandemic, they used their app to ask users questions pertinent to the pandemic such as “are you experiencing symptoms of COVID today?”. Ideally, users of this app would respond to a questionnaire each day which would give us a complete timeline of when a user exhibited symptoms. Unfortunately, user responses are sporadic which means we instead consider bounds on when we think a user exhibited symptoms. For example, if a users response timeline was AXXXSSSSXXA - where A = asymptomatic, X = no response, S = symptomatic - the lower bound is the number of days between the first and last symptomatic response and the upper bound is the number of days between the first and last asymptomatic response. We then use the following Stan model to infer the parameters of the population from the extracted bounds.

data {
  int<lower=0> N;
  vector<lower=0>[N] lower_bound;
  vector<lower=0>[N] upper_bound;
}
parameters {
  real<lower=0> alpha;
  real<lower=0> beta;
}
model {
  alpha ~ exponential(1);
  beta ~ exponential(1);

for (n in 1:N) {
    target += log_diff_exp(gamma_lcdf(upper_bound[n] | alpha, beta), gamma_lcdf(lower_bound[n] | alpha, beta));
  }
}
generated quantities {
  real gamma_mu = alpha/beta;
  real gamma_sigma = sqrt(alpha/(beta*beta));
}