Inconsistency in zero-inflated Poisson models?

Please also provide the following information in addition to your question:

• Operating System: Windows 10
  • brms Version: 2.9.0

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Bayesian stuff and this is my first time ever posting a question here, so I apologize in advance if the answer is obvious or I do anything dumb.

I’m trying to get comfortable with zero-inflated Poisson models in brms, and I’m working through the example in Statistical_rethinking_recoded. What’s confusing me is why the following two models aren’t yielding exactly the same results:

prob_drink <- 0.2 # 20% of days drinking -> 0 manuscripts
rate_work <- 1 # average 1 manuscript per day (lambda)

#Sample one year of production
n <- 365
set.seed(11)
drink <- rbinom(n, 1, prob_drink)
y <- (1 - drink) * rpois(n, rate_work) #number of manuscripts completed

d <-
 tibble(Y = y) %>%
 arrange(Y) %>% 
 mutate(zeros = c(rep("zeros_drink", times = sum(drink)),
               rep("zeros_work",  times = sum(y == 0 & drink == 0)),
               rep("nope",        times = n - sum(y == 0))
))

b11.4a <-
  brm(data = d, family = zero_inflated_poisson,
  Y ~ 1,
  prior = c(prior(normal(0, 10), class = Intercept),
  prior(beta(2, 2), class = zi)), # the brms default is beta(1, 1)
  cores = 4,
  seed = 11,
  inits = "random")

b11.4_b <-
  brm(data = d, family = zero_inflated_poisson(link_zi = "identity"),
  bf(Y ~ 1, zi ~ 1),
  prior = c(prior(normal(0, 10), class = Intercept),
  prior(beta(2, 2), class = Intercept, dpar = zi)), # the brms default is beta(1, 1)
  iter = 2000, warmup = 1000, chains = 4,
  cores = 4,
  seed = 11)

The results are very similar, but not identical (particularly the n_eff). Whereas with the seed, if I run b11.4a over and over again the results are exactly the same. I compared the stan code produced by both these models and do see some differences, but I’m not skilled enough to know exactly what I’m looking at.