How to validate ARMA models

I have fitted a simple ar1 model with poisson outcome in brms.

As far as I know an ARMA model assumes that the “shocks” (the “error term” in the ARMA process) is iid gaussian.

I don’t see a way to extract these from my brms model for assumption checking. Am I missing something? How can I check my model?

A a side note/question:
I also didn’t find a way to get fitted or predicted values utilizing the fitted ARMA process. It seems the choices are either to set the ARMA process to zero or to simulate new draws of the ARMA process. The same also applies to GP models

1 Like

I am not an expert of BRMS. BRMS are Stan models. So you can use extr <- extract(fit)
Then use extr$foo. It’s Not difficult to find out “foo”. You may use one of those normality tests.

Well not necessary as a Gaussian process they just have to behave as a white noise or at least stationary.

It will be odd to check Gaussianity if you use a Poisson distribution or if your data is integer.

1 Like

Very true. Brandt et al. defined filters using the gamma distribution as conj. prior, not easy to understand and implement.

# Brandt et al. 2000. "Dynamic Modelling for Persistent Event
# Count Time Series." American Journal of Political Science. 44(4):
# 823-843.
#
# Brandt and Williams. 2001. "A Linear Poisson Autoregressive
# Model: The PAR(p)"  Political Analysis 9(2).

The fitted ARMA “shocks” don’t seem to be part of the returned object. If they can be recovered then only by deriving them from the other variables that are returned. One of the things that are returned is the value of the ARMA process for each datapoint, so i guess it could be derived from that in combination with the fitted ARMA parameters.