How to get best fit value of the parameters from pystan.StanModel.sampling result?

I am very new to STAN/Pystan. I fit a model in pystan using an array of parameters. Now I get to see the mean of the posterior of parameters (I could calculate the median as well). But I wanted to know what is the best-fit values of the parameters (in other words where the probability is max or the -log_prob is min). I am pretty sure that there must be some easy function to obtain the best-fit.
My MWE is given below:

import pystan
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import seaborn as sns
import pandas as pd
import numpy as np

A0=0.5; A1=1.5; A2=-0.2; A3=-0.008; A4=0.00025
def func(xx):
    return A0+A1*xx+A2*xx*xx#+A3*(x**3)+A4*(x**4)

x=10*np.random.rand(100); x=np.sort(x)
fx=func(x);
yerror=np.random.rand(len(x))
y=np.random.normal(fx,scale=yerror)

np.random.seed(101)

model = """
data {
    int<lower=0> N;
    vector[N] x;
    vector[N] y;
    vector[N] yerror;
    int <lower=0> NP;
}
parameters {
    real a[NP];
}
model {
    for(i in 1:N){
    target+=normal_lpdf(y[i]|a[3] + a[1] * x[i] + a[2] * x[i]*x[i], yerror[i]);

}

}
"""

NP=3;
data = {'N': len(x), 'x': x, 'y': y,'yerror':yerror,'NP':NP}
sm = pystan.StanModel(model_code=model)
fit = sm.sampling(data=data, iter=2000, chains=4, warmup=400, thin=3, seed=101)
print(fit)

I want to get the best-fit for a[3].

Thanks in advance.

(If you want your code to be reproducible you need to call np.random.seed() before calling any other np.random functions.)

For maximum likelihood estimation StanModel objects have optimizing method. Instead of sampling call sm.optimizing(data=data) and you get a dictionary of values.

1 Like

Is there a reason you would want to use optimized values (frequentist) and not full bayesian? What you get, is samples from the posterior distribution, and you get the posterior mean / median with print(fit) or numerically with fit.summary().