How to generate posterior predictive distribution for hierarchical occupancy model in Stan?

Hi I am new to Bayesian modeling and Stan. Hoping to get some guidance on generating a posterior distribution to compare to my observed y values of presences and absences.

I am using the below model which was developed by Richard Erickson (StanOccupancyModelTutorials/TwoLevelOccupancyModels.Rmd at master · raerickson/StanOccupancyModelTutorials · GitHub).

I mostly understand the theory, however the complexity of the likelihood is giving me a hard time in entering the generated quantities.

data {
  int<lower=0> n_sampling_units;
  int<lower=0> y[n_sampling_units];
  int<lower=0> k[n_sampling_units];
}

parameters {
  real muPsi;
  real muP;
}

model {

real log_muPsi;
  real log1m_muPsi;

log_muPsi   = log_inv_logit(muPsi);
  log1m_muPsi = log1m_inv_logit(muPsi);

// priors
  muP ~ normal(2, .5);
  muPsi ~ normal(0, 2);

// likelihood
  for (r in 1:n_sampling_units) {
    if (y[r] > 0)
      target +=
	log_muPsi + binomial_logit_lpmf(y[r] | k[r],  muP);
    else
      target +=
	log_sum_exp(log_muPsi +
		    binomial_logit_lpmf(y[r] | k[r], muP), log1m_muPsi);
  }
}
generated quantities{
  real<lower = 0, upper = 1> p;
  real<lower = 0, upper = 1> psi;

p   = inv_logit(muP);
  psi = inv_logit(muPsi);
}

My generated quantities block so far is:

vector[n_sampling_units] y_rep;

p   = inv_logit(muP);
  psi = inv_logit(muPsi);

for(i in 1:n_sampling_units){
        y_rep[i] = bernoulli_rng(psi*p);

Thank you!

-Vlad

1 Like

Welcome @vladkovalenko!

Check out this thread for an in-depth discussion Posterior predictive distribution for occupancy models - #10 by betanalpha.

3 Likes

Thanks @mbjoseph!

This is very helpful, but I am hoping to also get some help with the actual code as I am new to Stan (and programming in general).

Hi Vlad,

This is complicated stuff! Here are some resources that might help: