How can I simulate a greater dataset (brms/Bayesian analysis)

I am a complete beginner so please excuse my very basic questions:
For a registered report, I aim to do a “Bayesian power analysis” for my planned GLMMs (Gamma distribution, log-link; conducted in R with brms) to justify my maximum sample size in a sequential Bayesian design. I am unsure how to do this as I only found introductions for simpler analyses like t-tests. Is it possible to use the effects found in a pilot study (N = 30) and simulate a greater sample (N = 100) that has the same fixed effects and recompute the brms models repeatedly? And if yes, how can I do that? Has anyone a hint for me how I can simulate data based on the outcome of a brms model?

Howdy!

First, it is actually not a good idea to base your power analysis off of the results of a pilot study. Andrew Gelman has written a lot about this, so you might search around for some things. The purpose of a pilot study is to learn about the practical difficulties involved in your study and its implementation. The noisy parameter estimates in a small sample pilot study should not be used as evidence for what they might be in a larger study. For example, suppose you find a large effect (i.e. some large magnitude of parameter estimate) of interest and you base your power analysis off of this estimate. It is more than likely that this large effect is simply noise from small sample size. If you program this effect into your power analysis, then the resulting sample size that you find necessary to estimate this inflated effect will be too small to find the more modest effect that you actually see in your large sample study. The values of parameters in your sample size analysis should be based off of previous research, the literature, etc., and even then, it is quite possible to overestimate the magnitude of effect sizes (and underestimate your sample size) due to publication bias of positive effects!