Hierarchical overdispersed count models

Hello,

I’m new to Stan and Bayesian statistics. I’m trying to create a hierarchical model to regress thousands of variables K in a proteomics experiment where I have dozens of donors N.

Each observation in matrix k is well modeled as a binomial, with the corresponding number of attempts in vector n. The predictor variable for each donor is lor.

The end goal is to regress each variable, account for overdispersion, pool information across variables and estimate differences and fold changes across extremes of the predictor variable.

My first attempt is below, and seems to work well. I’m looking for:

• Alternatives for modeling overdispersion
  • Suggestions on how to model covariance
  • Any other criticism
data {
  int<lower=1> K;
  int<lower=1> N;
  vector[N] lor;
  int<lower=0> k[K,N];
  int<lower=0> n[N];
}
parameters {
  real mua;
  real mub;
  real<lower=0> sga;
  real<lower=0> sgb;
  vector[K] alpha;
  vector[K] beta;
}
model {
  for (i in 1:K) {
    alpha[i] ~ normal(mua, sga);
    beta[i] ~ normal(mub, sgb);
    for (j in 1:N) {
      k[i,j] ~ binomial(n[j], inv_logit(alpha[i] + beta[i] * lor[j]));
    }
  }
}
generated quantities {
  vector[K] minp;
  vector[K] maxp;
  vector[K] diff;
  vector[K] fold;
  minp = inv_logit(alpha + beta * min(lor));
  maxp = inv_logit(alpha + beta * max(lor));
  diff = maxp - minp;
  fold = maxp ./ minp;
}
1 Like

Replying to myself on model covariance, I am planning to employ the usual LKJ prior for each correlation matrix i \in 1:K. However, I would be interested in hearing how people usually model the population level prior on \eta to connect it to each LKJ draw.

Furthermore, I am interested in hearing whether there are any interesting alternatives to my overdispersed binomial formulation, where I am simply modeling overdispersion through the latent intercept. I know one alternative is to use a reparametrized beta-binomial into scale and dispersion.

1 Like