Hierarchical Hidden Markov Model with Categorical and Continous Dependent Variables

Does anyone have a recomendation or example of hierarchical hidden markov model with a combination of continuous and categorical outcomes? I am trying to estimate a HHMM with mixture of behavioral (choice) and affective (positive, negative, neutral) data (100 individuals, 120 trials). I have found examples with either type, but not mixture of both data types.

1 Like

Can you give a more complete explanation of the model? I’ve implemented a couple of HMMs, but I’m not an expert, so I would have thought it’s something else if you have a continuous outcome, and maybe you need two separate models for it.

It’s not clear to me if this refers to the behavioral and affective outcomes (with seem to me like they are both categorical), or if you are referring to the categorical and continuous outcomes you mention in abstract in the question.

If it’s just two different categorical outcomes it should be relatively straightforward (although it may become very flexible and difficult to identify all parameters), if it’s the latter you may need something else entirely.

HMMex.csv (3.3 KB)

@caesoma Thank you for the reply. I uploaded an example single subject that is representative of the type of data we have. The model would identify latent states where emotion and behavioral choice were congruent and states where they were incongruent. We anticipate a third 'indecision state" where affect is primarily neutral. Variables are:

• ID (just a single subject)
  • Trial (1-120)
  • Stimulus (two types or stimuli in task)
  • Response (-1, 0, 1) for “Dislike”, “I don’t know”, and “Like”
  • Positive_affect (scale 0-1) derived from physiological markers
  • Negative_affect (scale 0-1) derived from physiological markers
  • Neutral (scale 0-1) derived from physiological markers