Help speeding up a slow hierarchical model?

Hi,

I am relatively new to Stan and to Bayesian analysis generally. I have been working on a multi-step problem involving estimating intergenerational income elasticities. The first step is to account for measurement error (transitory variance) in log-income as a child to estimate long-term “permanent childhood income.”

I have multiple measures (at different ages) for each child, and multiple children per family. In the data, there are about 100,000 person-year observations, nested within about 9,000 persons, nested within about 4,000 families. I control for age and estimate “true” permanent income using the family and person random effects. The model has been painfully slow. I am using rstan in Rstudio.

I have created a smaller artificial data set (6000 observations, 1500 persons, 500 families) to validate the model, and it does a nice job recovering the parameters in a reasonable time frame (<1hr for 5,000 iterations). But when applied to the real data, it is a day-long ordeal, if not longer (e.g., with 5,000 or 10,000 iterations).

I am pasting the model in below, hoping for some guidance on speeding things up. I have done my best to use vectors rather than loops, and to reparameterize some of the hierarchical parameters.

data {
	int<lower=1> Np; 					// number of person-year observations
	int<lower=1> J;						// number of persons
	int<lower=1> F; 					// number of families
	int<lower=1> Kp; 					// number of control variables
	vector[Np] Yp; 						// outcome
	matrix[Np,Kp] Xp; 					// controls
	int<lower=1, upper=J> SubjP[Np]; 	// person IDs
	int<lower=1, upper=F> FamP[Np]; 	// family IDs
	int<lower=1, upper=J> Subj2[J]; 	// person IDs
	int<lower=1, upper=F> Fam2[J]; 		// family IDs
}
parameters {
	// parent income model
	real alphaP; 						// intercept
	vector[Kp] betaP; 					// control coefficients 
	vector[J] aP_i_raw; 				// person effects
	vector[F] aP_f_raw; 				// family effects