Generating data for meta-analysis

Hi STAN community! I am a total beginner to STAN trying to specify a model to generate data from. The idea is to generate data for a meta-analysis with specific effect and heterogeneity parameters that I can then reproduce using the rma function from the metafor package in R. Below is my model.

data{
  int N; // number of studies
}

parameters{
  real mu;
  real <lower=.0001>tau;
}

model{
  mu ~ normal(.5, .1);    // mean of true effects(d = .5)
  tau ~ gamma(.5, 1);     // heterogeneity parameter(tau = .5)
}

generated quantities{
vector[N] theta;      
vector[N] sigma;
vector[N] y;

for(i in 1:N){
  theta[i] = normal_rng(mu, tau);  // drawn true population effect
  sigma[i] = normal_rng(1, .1);   // population deviation

y[i] = normal_rng(theta[i], sigma[i]); // observed effects
  }
}

My thinking is that this represent something like this:
\mu \sim N(0.5, 0.1)
\tau \sim \gamma(0.5, .1)

\theta_i \sim N(\mu, \tau)
\sigma_i \sim N(1, 1.1)

y_i \sim N(\theta_i, \sigma_i)

The issue is that when I simulate data from this model in R and try to estimate tau and mu the estimations are horribly off. For example, if I sample from this model for 5 studies with n = 300 like so:

n <- 300
iter <- 1000

set.seed(58)
sim_outcome <- sampling(model,
                        iter = iter, 
                        warmup = iter - n,
                        chains = 1,
                        refresh = 0,
                        data = list(N = 5))

meta_data <- data.frame(extract(sim_outcome))
yi <- (unlist(lapply(meta_data[12:16],
                     FUN = mean)))

vi <- (unlist(lapply(meta_data[12:16], 
                     FUN = var)))

rma(yi = yi, vi = vi, method = 'DL')