Gaussian process negative binomial

Hi all,

I’m new to Stan and gaussian processes, but I have a problem at hand where these can potentially be very useful.

I want to build a non-parametric gaussian process using an exponentiated quadratic kernel to model count data with a negative binomial distribution. My y is a vector of count data and my x is a vector of natural numbers.

I followed Michael’s excellent blog post ( Robust Gaussian Processes in Stan ), although I have a few doubts on how to modify the existing example to consider a neg_binomial_2 distribution.

Could you point me to any example that could achieve this, similarly to the example below (I found this thread Redirecting to Google Groups but I couldn’t understand/find the final model)?

data {
int<lower=1> N;
real x[N];
vector[N] y;
}

parameters {
real<lower=0> rho;
real<lower=0> alpha;
real<lower=0> sigma;
}

model {
matrix[N, N] cov = cov_exp_quad(x, alpha, rho) + diag_matrix(rep_vector(square(sigma), N));
matrix[N, N] L_cov = cholesky_decompose(cov);

y ~ multi_normal_cholesky(rep_vector(0, N), L_cov);
}

I also would like to fit this model to two different y’s and find where these two GPs differ significantly (I’ll also need to contain a specific offset to each y). I presume I can obtain this by assessing calculating | GP1(x) - GP2(x) | and validating if the difference is higher than the expected standard variation of each GP1 and GP2.

I apologise in advance for the basic questions and thank you any opinion/suggestion you might have.

Thanks,

Could you point me to any example that could achieve this

So neg_binomial_2 is different from poisson_log in that it has two parameters instead of one, and they are constrained (so they both need to be greater than zero).

For the first, you just get to decide whether you want one or two GPs. Maybe just start with a GP on the mean, and a single parameter for sigma? But that’s a function of your data I guess.