Fitting regime switching model to binary time series

Hi, I’m new to Stan and am unsure if it’s an appropriate tool for my problem. Any suggestions?

I have a binary time series X_t that I’d like to fit. It clearly has long memory effects (high Hurst exponent), and I believe that it is generated by a Bernoulli process where the probability shifts in discrete jumps:

U_t = \left\{ \begin{array}{ll} U_{t-1} \text{ w.p. } p \\ N(0, \sigma) \text{ w.p. } 1-p \\ \end{array} \right. \\ X_t = Bernoulli(Probit(U_t))

What is a good way to fit \sigma and p to my data? I don’t see any obvious way to model the switching behavior of the latent variable U_t in Stan.

This seems to be an example of a mixture model and there is a chapter about it in the Stan User Manual. Essentially, you need to model both branches of U_t and weight the likelihood by the probability that each occurs. This is not easy, but there is a case study about the difficulties at
http://mc-stan.org/users/documentation/case-studies/identifying_mixture_models.html

1 Like

Thanks, I’ve made an attempt at the model, but I can’t figure out how to reference the state from the previous time step.

In the code below, I generate N jumps, and with probability p choose between jump_n and jump_{n-1}, but really I want a state U_n to update with probability p to jump_n or U_{n-1}:

data {
  int<lower=0> N;
  int<lower=0,upper=1> x[N];
}
parameters {
  real<lower=0,upper=1> p;
  real<lower=0> sigma;
  vector[N] jumps;
}
model {
  jumps ~ normal(0, sigma);

for(n in 2:N) {
    target += log_mix(p, bernoulli_logit_lpmf(x[n] | jumps[n-1]), bernoulli_logit_lpmf(x[n] | jumps[n]));
  }
}

The way you wrote the generative model originally, wouldn’t the Stan program be something like

data {
  int<lower=0> N;
  int<lower=0,upper=1> x[N];
}
parameters {
  real<lower=0,upper=1> p;
  real<lower=0> sigma;
  vector[N] U;
}
model {
  // do something when n = 1
  for(n in 2:N) {